DJ Allen, John Smith, and Luke Washburn Named 2017 Football Captains

DJ Allen, John Smith, and Luke Washburn Named 2017 Football Captains

BANGOR, Maine - Husson football head coach Gabby Price and his coaching staff are proud to announce that senior DJ Allen (Skowhegan, Maine), senior John Smith (Fayetteville, Ga.), and senior Luke Washburn (Litchfield, Maine) will serve the program as captains in 2017.

Coach Price on the captains:

"We are pleased to announce the 2017 Husson football captains. Congratulations to the newly elected captains and congratulations to all of our players for helping shape our team. John, DJ, and Luke have displayed outstanding leadership during our off-season, spring football, and last fall's football season. They are committed, dependable, prepared, always trying to improve and, most of all, relentless in their pursuit for Husson's football success. Leadership is the most important factor in the development of any successful team. At the end of the day, the captains lead us, but each player can and, I hope, will have a say in the direction of our team."

John Smith was named Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) Offensive Player of the Year, while Luke Washburn was named the Defensive Player of the Year last season. DJ Allen, Washburn and Smith all earned ECFC first team honors last year.  He, along with Smith and Washburn, will play a huge role in the Eagles' march for another ECFC championship. 

The defending 2016 ECFC Champions will kick off their 15th season at home against Union on September 2nd at 1:00 p.m.