Batty, Lewis, McLaughlin, and Throckmorton Named to 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Photos by Monty Rand Photography
Photos by Monty Rand Photography

IRVING, Texas - Husson University football seniors Seth Batty, Nick Lewis, AJ McLaughlin, and Ellis Throckmorton have been named to the 2017 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society.

On Wednesday, April 5th, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced the members of the 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

Batty, a Criminal Justice major from Rockland, Maine, appeared in 24 games for the Eagles playing a crucial role on the offensive line. Batty was named to the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) All-Academic Team for his second time this year.

Lewis, a Computer Information Systems major, earned his first All-New England honor, becoming the third offensive lineman in program history to be chosen to the team and the first since 2008 after previously being named Husson's second ECFC Offensive Lineman of the Year in program history and a first team All-ECFC selection in 2016. Lewis anchored an Eagle offensive line that earned a league best 470.8 yards per game, 40.0 points per game and 57 total touchdowns during the regular season, while paving the way for an offense that set single-season records for rushing yards (2,590), rushing attempts (544), rushing touchdowns (30), passing completions (166), passing yards (2,426), passing touchdowns (27), pass completion pct. (57.8), passing efficiency (152.2), average yards per pass (8.5), passing yards per game (220.5), total offense (5,108), total offense per game (464.4), total offense per play (6.15), all-purpose yards (6,474), all-purpose yards per game (588.5), touchdowns scored (61) and points scored (427). He also led an offensive line that was impressive in quarterback protection; surrendering only 11 total sacks to their opponents and not allowing a single sack in four contests.

McLaughlin, a Sport Management major from Dexter, Maine, was a key member of the Eagle's special teams units this past season, recording two tackles in his senior year after appearing in eleven games. He also was awarded ECFC All-Academic Honors three years in a row.

Throckmorton, a Business Management major and linebacker, was Husson's leading tackler in 2016 with 61 stops (10.5 for loss) to go with his 4.5 sacks, one interception, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery and two pass breakups helping him earn first team All-ECFC for second time in his career and the first since 2014.  The two-time captain became the second player in program history to record 300 career totals this past season and is currently tied for the most career tackles for loss (46.0).

"We are pleased to see a record number of colleges and universities embrace the Hampshire Honor Society this year," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "Over the past decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives."

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 778 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

The 1,103 players honored in 2017 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 882 honorees in 2016. The 302 schools with members breaks the previous record of 280 in both 2015 and 2016. 

The initiative has honored 7,737 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.


Click HERE to view the complete NFF release.